The Judges

Africa Design Competition Judges


An international jury of interdisciplinary experts from the fields of design and health worked independently to evaluate the submissions, with the final scores and recommendations collated by the International Academy for Design & Health working with the Ministry of South Africa to assess the final results.

The international jury consisted of the following judges:

  • Dr Alan Dilani, International Academy for Design and Health (coordinator)
  • Dr Massoud Shaker, Ministry of Health
  • Michael Moxam, Stantec Architecture, Canada
  • Cliff Harvey, Ministry of Health, Canada
  • Dr Mohamad Rahim, Ministry of Health, Malaysia
  • Gunther De Graeve, director, Destravis, Australia
  • Mikael Paatela, director, SWECO architects, Finland
  • Mrs Laura Angeletti, Department of Health, South Africa
  • Hennie Cloete, Department of Health, South Africa
  • Richard Hussey, Department of Health, South Africa
  • Geoff Abbott, CSIR Built Environment, South Africa